1 Million Fans and Followers:      
Search Jobs | Submit News
Thursday, September 11, 2014

24th Annual NAACP Theatre Awards Announces Nominations

24th Annual NAACP Theatre Awards

Beverly Hills, CA — The NAACP Beverly Hills/Hollywood Branch’s Theatre Viewing Committee announced nominations in 32 competitive categories for the 24th Annual NAACP Theatre Awards. This year’s show will be hosted by Kym Whitley, star of the humorous and poignant docu-series “Raising Whitley” on Oprah Winfrey’s The OWN Network. The awards show will take place on Monday, November 17, 2014 at 6:00P.M. at the historical Saban Theatre in Beverly Hills, California.

This year’s Equity Theatre nominations include an array of phenomenal productions including the August Wilson classic, “Joe Turner’s Come and Gone”, securing several nominations counting Phylicia Rashad in the category of “Best Director of a Play”. Tony Award nominee, Sheldon Epps, is nominated for “Best Director”, for “12 Angry Men”, which is also receiving a nomination for “Best Playwright ” for the late Reginald Rose. Shirley Jo Finney rounds out the “Best Director” category for “The Road Weeps, The Well Runs Dry”. Leading the equity nominations with seven is “Breath and Imagination”, receiving a “Best Director of a Musical” nomination for Saundra McClain and “Best Lead Female” and “Best Lead Male” nominations for Karan Kendrick and Elijah Rock. Vanessa Bell Calloway, “Letters from Zora: In Her Own Words” and Demetrius Groose, “The Road Weeps, The Well Runs Dry” are also nominated in their respective best actor categories. Award winning musical favorite, “Smokey Joe’s Cafe” receives several nominations, including Jeffrey Polk for “Best Director of a Musical” and “Best Choreography”. Veteran actors David St. Louis, Robert Gossett, and Desean Terry pull in 3 of the 5 nominations for the musical, “Royale”. Another leader is “One Night with Janis Joplin”, which garners 4 nominations, including Sabrina Elayne Carten for “Best Supporting Female”.

In the category of Local Theatre nominations “Dream Girls” directed by “Best Director of a Musical” nominee Marco Gomez, takes the lead with 7 nominations including “Best Ensemble Cast” and “Best Producer”. “Blood Knot” brings in a “Best Director” nomination for Louis Gossett, Jr. and a “Best Lead Male” nomination for Oscar Best. “One Night in Miami” receives four nominations including a “Best Director” to Carl Cofield and a “Best Ensemble Cast”. Local productions of the Broadway smash hits “Ragtime” and “Rent” bring in nominations as well.

The Theatre Viewing Committee considers all candidates who submit their production from January 2013 through December 2013 for possible nomination. All productions must have showcased five performances during the qualifying period in Southern California (San Diego to Bakersfield included) to be considered. Productions who meet all eligibility requirements before the deadline are considered eligible for a 2014 NAACP Theatre Award. For more information on the NAACP Theatre Awards, please visit www.naacptheatreawards.com or call Image Is Everything PR for full nominee list at (310) 977-2502.

About The NAACP Theatre Awards
The NAACP Theatre Awards is presented by the Beverly Hills/Hollywood NAACP Branch. Ron Hasson is Branch President and Tia Boyd is the Executive Producer for the NAACP Theatre Awards Show. The prestigious star-studded gala is produced for the purpose of honoring thespians among the best in the field of entertainment. The branch also celebrates a three-day theatre festival, which provides a platform for thespians to express their craft and share their contributions with an audience of their peers, the community and other individuals who celebrate live theatre in Los Angeles.

Ms. JGray

Tia-Michelle Jackson